england · gap year · Travel Blogger · united kingdom · Work · Working

Complaints I Get at Work #1

This is something that I got inspired to do, coincidentally when someone complained to me the other day.

To put some pretext into this, I work at a cafe/shop (I won’t name for legal reasons). This is a part time job so I can afford to travel and that’s it.  Not all are stuck up and some can be quite lovely but most think of us as idiots or people with no future and treat us like that. Patronizing can be an understatement at times.

 

The Difference Between a Cappuccino and A Latte

I served a lady one time who asked for a latte and generally speaking a latte is basically milk with no froth. I took the order and passed it back to my friend who was making the drinks and made her a latte. Unfortunately when this lady received her latte she looked at it, picked it up then said very angrily “this is as flat as a pancake”. She still took the drink over to her table then 5 minutes later called our other friend over who brought the drink back to us. This lady was furious that there was no froth and no wonder because she’d ordered a latte. So I had to tell her if she wanted froth she needed to order a cappuccino to which she then grumbled something under her breath and walked away.

My First Complaint: A Man and His Banana

So I’d only been working for a couple of weeks when I served this gentleman who I could already tell was a regular customer and also a grumpy sod. Firstly, to get a free coffee you have to buy something and the cheapest item is a banana for 25p. So for a coffee and a banana it costs as little as that. But unfortunately we’d run out of banana’s on this fine day in which the gentleman needed his latte. I checked out back for him and apologized for the fact instead of paying 25p he had to pay 45p for an apple and a coffee. Anyone in their right sense of mind would still think damn, what a bloody bargain. Not this guy. 

He waited at the side for a moment until i’d served the queue, then leaned over and asked “what’s your name?”. Now naive me gave him my name in which is proceeded to say “right Ella, i’m going to complain about you to the head of staff for being incompetent, inconsistent, rude and arrogant.” I just stood their in shock and couldn’t reply. And I just want to clarify that I was very apologetic for the fact he had to spend an extra 20p, I was polite as i’m not a rude person as its really not in my nature. Luckily my boss just said not to worry as they get it all the time and she wasn’t wrong there.

The Man With No Microwave 

This happened two days ago when I was on the welcome desk who unfortunately deal with most of the complaints. My favorite. A man wanted to return some food items that he was going to cook for dinner and these were ready meals that you could just bang in the microwave and be done with. But the cooking instructions specified it to be cooked by microwave to which he didn’t have. He kept going on about the fact that the instructions for it to microwaved were on the back and should say on the front. Is it that hard to really look on the back of products to check how to cook them OR just put them in a dish and bang them in the oven. Because the food had been out the fridge for more than 30 minutes I had to throw away 2 perfectly fine dishes into the bin.

 

Anyway these are just funny/ridiculous complaints I get at work that make me realize there’s so much more to life and I promise to myself I will never be or turn out like these people. Life’s too short.

30 thoughts on “Complaints I Get at Work #1

  1. Any job where you have to deal with the public seems to bring out the absolute worst in people, I swear to God. My brief time as a waitress was enough to make me think that some people were raised by wolves.
    But like, not even regular wolves; rude, sociopathic wolves.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oy! This reminds me of when I worked in retail. I sure don’t miss those days. Now I have my own office and when I don’t want to deal with people, I can just shut the door.
    And thanks for the lesson. I didn’t know the difference between a latte and a cappuccino. 🙂

    Like

  3. Customer service is an incredibly challenging industry to work in. I used to work at a retail store, which i don’t believe is quite as bad as working at a food/drink place. People want what they want and do not care if they’re being polite or not in order to get it. I guess we are living in an age where manners aren’t emphasized. However, these little annoyances make for some funny stories! Thank you for sharing with everyone. 😇💚

    Like

    1. It really is, I dont know what it is about people who when they food shop they get so angry so easily. Then this age needs to gain some manners quick because I cant deal with them😂 ahaha no problem, im just happy they could bring some entertainment😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Strawberry,
    Is this a travel blog? I almost became a travel blogger but now I blog about blogging tips. I didn’t know the difference between the two drinks. Thank you for the tips.
    I met you in the Community Pool where you said you are a new blogger. Congratulations on starting your blog recently. Maybe you can check out my blog. I blog over at mostlyblogging.com. I help new bloggers at my site. I also host six blogging events each month where you could meet new readers.
    Janice

    Like

  5. Oh geez, these people sound so bitter and just so unpleasant! Kudos to you for handling it well, I thought I had bad ones at my retail job but after reading this, you’ve definitely had worse. Also wanted to say thanks for liking my post 🙂 xx

    Like

  6. I love this post because it’s always nice to read funny stories like these.
    However, the lattes I make have a tiny bit of froth, and it’s the white flat coffee that has absolutely none. Perhaps that’s what the lady meant. But she should have been nicer, for sure.
    And the guy and his banana…it’s sad that there are actually tons of people like him!

    Like

    1. I find them hilarious to look back on!
      See I cant even make coffees that well, I didnt even know what a flat white was!! So perhaps she did mean that but like you said she could have gone about it a different way.
      I just dont know how they end up lils that in all honesty!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

